Life is just a bowl of Carrots…

CARROTS

They say that carrots are good for your eyes,

They swear that they improve your sight,

But I’m seein’ worse than I did last night—

                                                You think maybe I ain’t usin’ ’em right?         – Shel Silverstein

In a former life as an elementary school teacher, I always enjoyed that time after lunch when I asked my students to quietly lay their heads down on their desks and I read to them for a brief time.  It seemed to calm them (and me)down.  One of my favorite authors is Shel Silverstein; his prose is fun, witty, reflective and speaks to all ages, I believe.  So, I thought I would start this post about Carrot Cupcakes with one of his humorous carrot poems.

On to the cupcakes!  I was looking forward to these because I am a huge fan of carrot cake.  The moistness, sweetness, nuttiness (is that a word?) is delectable.  Not to mention the cream cheese frosting, always a favorite.  Actually, frosting is one of my guilty pleasures; sometimes I think that cake is just an excuse to devour the frosting 🙂

This was an extremely easy cupcake to make.  Start with wet ingredients:

Add to this, the dry ingredients:

Wet and dry ingredients together look like this (don’t forget the nuts-I used pecans):

Whisk together.  That’s it!  Super simple!

Here is a tool I use frequently for batters that are very liquid.  It is called a cupcake batter dispenser:

 Best $12.00 investment I ever made.  Just pour the batter into the dispenser, squeeze the handle to release batter, then let go of handle to stop the batter from pouring.  No drips, no mess and it is very easy to control the amount of batter that is going into each liner.

Here I am using the cupcake batter dispenser to pour the batter into the liners:

After baking, here is what they look like:

Martha’s cookbook suggests cream cheese frosting, duh!! I can’t imagine anything else. The recipe in the book was very good, but personally I like mine better.  Mine is not quite as sweet – I use more butter and cream cheese and less sugar.  Oh well, personal taste I guess.

Here is the final product:

I have to say, after tasting I was not disappointed.  The cupcake was moist, flavorful and nutty.  The frosting complimented the cupcake magnificently.  The texture was what you would expect from a carrot cake, dense but not heavy.  Overall, a winner.  But, next time I will use my own frosting recipe.

Next time…Yellow Buttermilk Cupcakes.  Hmmmm…..sounds kind of ordinary.  What will I do to kick up the SWEETNESS.  Wait and see!

Okay, one more “carrot” quote, this time from the immortal Mae West:

“I never worry about diets. The only carrots that interest me are the number you get in a diamond.”

Stay tuned,

Sweet Joan

One thought on “Life is just a bowl of Carrots…

Leave a Reply

