Chocolate Chip Remix

Rather than jump right in to the next cupcake in Martha’s book, I decided to revisit the Chocolate Chip cupcakes.  I was so disappointed with the results last time, and I knew I could improve on it.  The main problem with the first chocolate chip cupcakes was the lack of flavor and the dry texture.  I thought that a chocolate chip cupcake should taste more like a chocolate chip cookie!   I started searching and I found a fantastic website: Annie’s Eats.  She has a recipe on her site called Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes.

Wow!! These cupcakes are amazing!  They are moist, buttery, chocolatey, rich…everything that a chocolate chip cookie (or cupcake, for that matter) should be.  If you click on the link above, you can get the recipe.

This recipe is not difficult, but there are many steps.  You could easily do this over two days; make and bake the cupcakes one day and make the filling, fill, and frost the cupcakes on the second day.

Here are the cupcakes ready for the oven:

After baking, here is what they look like:

Here is the filling, don’t worry there are no raw eggs:

Next, I used my new fancy, schmancy cupcake corer to make a hole in the top of the cupcakes (you could just cut a hole with a knife) and filled the cupcakes with the cookie dough filling:

Lastly, the frosting (the best part as far as I’m concerned).  I changed the frosting slightly; in addition to the 2 cubes of butter, I added 8 ounces of cream cheese and I used cream instead of milk.  The frosting was very soft, so I would suggest refrigerating it for 30-60 minutes to firm it up before piping.

The final product:

Here is a close up showing the inside with the filling:

Scrumptious!! If you try these, I guarantee they will be a hit!

Next on the list: Coconut Cupcakes.

Stay tuned,

Sweet Joan

Leave a Reply

