Coconut-Pecan Cupcakes will bring (almond) joy to your life!

The two basic items necessary to sustain life are sunshine and coconut milk.Dustin Hoffman

There is just something about coconut; it’s like cilantro, you either love it or hate it.  Well, I love it!  The sweetness, the creaminess, the texture…yum!!  Last year I developed a cake pop that I called Almond Joy; it had the same basic ingredients as these cupcakes (I used almonds instead of pecans) – it was very popular and very delicious.  These coconut-pecan cupcakes remind me of those cake pops; every bite is reminiscent of an almond joy candy bar.  The texture, the flavor, the moistness: it’s hard to say what I love the most.

I made these cupcakes as part of the monthly challenge for the Martha Stewart Cupcake Club.  Since I was the person who picked the recipe, I felt some pressure to make it a good one.  I believe I succeeded; they were wonderful!

Here is how I made them (recipe follows):

I ground flaked coconut and roasted pecans in a food processor

Next, I whisked together the dry ingredients and then stirred in the ground coconut and nuts.

I creamed butter, creamed coconut, and sugar until it was fluffy and then added pure coconut extract.

I added the eggs, one at a time:

The final step was to add the dry ingredients alternately with coconut milk:

Here is the luscious batter – notice all of the yummy pieces of pecan:

After baking, here they are:

While the cupcakes are cooling, toast some coconut for the topping.

The chocolate ganache glaze is very simple.

Chop chocolate and place in a heatproof bowl.   Bring heavy cream and corn syrup to a simmer over medium high heat:

Pour the cream mixture over the chopped chocolate, let it melt for a few minutes and then gently stir the mixture until it is creamy:

Finishing the cupcakes: Dip tops of cupcakes in chocolate glaze and then garnish with toasted coconut:

Here is the recipe:

Coconut-Pecan Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache
1 cup firmly packed sweetened flaked coconut
3/4 cup pecan
2 cup sugar
2 1/4 cup flour
1 tbsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
2 sticks butter, room temperature
1 tbsp coconut extract
4 large eggs
1 cup plus 2 tbsp unsweetened coconut milk
Chocolate Ganache Glaze (see below)
Preheat oven 350 degrees.  Line muffin pan with paper liners.  In a food processor, finely grind flaked coconut; transfer to a a bowl.  Process pecans with 2 tbsp sugar until finely ground.  Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt; stir in ground coconut and pecans.
With an electric mixture on medium-high speed, cream butter and remaining sugar until pale and fluffy.  Add extract and then eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated, scarping down sides of bowl as needed.  Reduce speed to low.  Add flour mixture in three batches, alternating with two additions of coconut milk, and beating until just combined after each.
Divide batter evenly among lined cups, filling each three-quarters full.  Bake until golden and cake tester inserted in the centers comes out clean, 20 minutes or so (cupcakes will not be domed).  Turn out cupcakes onto wire racks and let cool completely.
To finish, dip tops of cupcakes in chocolate glaze, then turn over quickly and garnish with toasted coconut if you desire.  Cupcakes are best eaten completely cool!
Chocolate Ganache Glaze:
6 oz semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
2/3 cup heavy cream
1 tbsp light corn syrup
Place chocolate in a heatproof bowl.  Bring cream and corn syrup to a simmer over medium high heat.  Pour the cream mixture over the chopped chocolate, let melt for a few minutes and then gently stir until smooth.
Try these, your day will be (almond) joyful.
Stay tuned,
Sweet Joan
2 thoughts on “Coconut-Pecan Cupcakes will bring (almond) joy to your life!

    • Hi Rachel!
      Thanks for the kind words..it means a lot to me! Anyway, my blog and my baking have been sorely neglected lately. Our home is being redecorated, painted, etc etc., so I haven’t had access to my kitchen. This is in anticipation of a move to Colorado in the next few months! I am so excited about our move, and I hope to be back to the kitchen, and my blog soon.
      Hang in there with me, I will be back as soon as I can!
      Happy Holidays,
      Joan

Leave a Reply

