New year, new cupcake, “new-ish” home!

colorado snow

So much has happened since my last post.  I was not able to work in my kitchen for most of the time between Thanksgiving and New Years.  While our home was being remodeled and redecorated (see pictures below), we spent lots of time in restaurants.  I know it sounds nice, but after awhile it gets really tiresome.

Here are some pictures of the mess that was most of my home:

remodeling 3

remodeling 2

remodeling 1

Part of this time was spent in Colorado with our kids and grandkids…hence the picture at the top of this post.  The reason we are doing all of the remodeling and redecorating is because within the next 2-3 months our plan is to sell our house and move to Colorado.  To say that we are excited is an understatement…we are thrilled!  Retirement, kids, grandkids, beautiful Colorado, it doesn’t get better.  Oh… and my blog – although it may take a different slant because baking at high altitude will be a challenge!  But, I am always up for a challenge, especially a baking challenge.

Here is a picture of my husband at our daughter’s home in Colorado, he’s ready for the snow!

ron in colo

So, the next few months will be exciting and busy.  I hope to be able to keep up with my Martha Stewart baking quest although I may have fewer posts in the near future.  But, I intend to keep it up and I look forward to high altitude cupcakes after we get to Colorado.

For today, I have chosen to try the next cupcake in Martha Stewart’s book: Zucchini Spice Cupcakes.  Since my husband has outlawed the “z” food for many years at our home, I haven’t baked with this ingredient lately.  But hey, the worst that can happen is he won’t have a cupcake…his loss!

Here are some of the ingredients: Lemon zest, grated zucchini (I had to add some grated yellow squash because I didn’t have enough zucchini), walnuts, cinnamon, cloves, whole nutmeg (with a nutmeg grater) and vanilla.  Freshly grated nutmeg is far superior to the bottled variety, there is no comparison.

beginning ingred.

First, whisk together the dry ingredients including the spices:

dry

Grating the nutmeg into the dry ingredients:

grind nutmeg

In another bowl, whisk eggs, oil, vanilla and lemon zest. Whisk in brown sugar:

eggs oil vanilla zestwhisk in brown sugar

 

Stir in zucchini, dry ingredients and walnuts:

stir in zucchini

add walnuts

Here they are after baking and ready for frosting:

out of oven

I used a basic cream cheese frosting for these.  They were delicious, very dense but also very flavorful.  When my husband tried them (yes, I was suprised that he wanted a taste!) he thought they tasted like a muffin.  Could be…but I did not think they were THAT dense.  The moistness was fabulous and the crunch from the walnuts was the perfect addition.  Well done, Martha!  I will definitely make these again and tell my husband they are muffins and tell everyone else they are cupcakes.

Here they are:

doneclose up 2

Happy New Year

Stay tuned,

Sweet Joan

3 thoughts on “New year, new cupcake, “new-ish” home!

  1. First off, remodeled AGAIN?! And, Zucchini Spice Cupcakes? I think I’m gonna have to pass on these. :/ Still love you though! 😉

Leave a Reply

