Flower Power

photo 4

“Don’t undertake a project unless it is manifestly important and nearly impossible” – Edwin Land

I love baking..seems obvious. I also love projects; give me a project that seems insurmountable and I am one happy girl! Yeah, yeah – it’s probably a birth defect, my mom was the same way. So, if I have a baking project..WOW!

As I have probably already mentioned, I will be handling the wedding cupcakes for my cousin Cindy’s wedding on November 2nd. A project!! Woohoo!! The only down side to projects are deadlines. I would love to be able to spend the next few months planning the PERFECT cupcakes, frosting, flowers, etc. but alas I have a deadline. I will be flying into South Dakota on Oct 29th, so that leaves a little more than 3 weeks left to finish everything. No, I am NOT baking the cupcakes yet, that will be done in South Dakota. What I am doing now are the flowers that will be placed on top of each cupcake. This week I have seriously gotten down to business.

First thing, line up ingredients (in this case, fondant) and tools:
photo (63)photo (64)

Ah, mise en place! Sorry, sometimes I just feel like showing off!

After setting everything up, it was just a matter of cutting out shapes and turning and twisting the shapes into flowers. It does take quite a bit of time, and can become frustrating when a piece breaks off if the flowers are not held in just the right way.

Here are some of the flowers that have been placed on cone-shaped “formers”.
photo 1 (2)photo 1

Don’t drop them!!! They can shatter!

 

 

 

 

 

Actually, I think the hardest part of the flowers is the yellow inside portion. I was having a terrible time getting them to stay inside the flower!  photo 2 (2)

I still have lots more flowers to make.  As you can see, the colors I have here are purple, black and white. The white flowers have been painted with a silver shimmer paint (it’s hard to see the silver in a picture).

So, my dear Cindy, I hope you read this and let me know what you think.

Until next time, remember:

“Earth laughs in flowers.”  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

photo 5photo 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stay tuned,

Sweet Joan

2 thoughts on “Flower Power

Leave a Reply

