Gingerbread with an Attitude!

photo (65)

I have a long history with ginger; it runs the gamut from using ginger in stir fry recipes and gingerbread cookies to designing and creating gingerbread houses.  The sweet and spicy fragrance of ginger is unmistakable and intoxicating.  The picture at the top of this post is a gingerbread house I made for Good Housekeeping magazine many years ago.  It was a huge project and took many weeks to complete, but the magazine liked it so much that it was displayed at Radio City Musical Hall during the Christmas season in 2001.  So yeah, ginger and I go way back!

The next cupcake in my journey through Martha Stewart’s cupcake book is Ginger and Molasses cupcakes. Yes! Perfect! Right up my alley! I love all things gingerbread and, next to chocolate, it’s probably one of my favorite things.

Let’s get started:  The most daunting part of this recipe is preparing the fresh ginger.  Here it is, ginger root.  Pretty homely, but oh so delicious.  The easiest way to peel ginger is with a teaspoon.  Sounds strange, but it really works.

photo 4

Next, mince the ginger.  I used a mini food processor because the recipe called for 1 cup.  That’s a lot of ginger!  After this it’s pretty easy.  Whisk together the dry ingredients and add these to a bowl containing sugar, molasses, eggs, and melted butter.  After these ingredients are thoroughly mixed, stir in the ginger.

photo 5  photo 1 (2)

When the cupcakes were done, I was a little perplexed.  They sunk!  But, then I read the recipe again and found out that sinking is what these cupcakes will do.  Whew!!

photo 2 (2)

After cooling, I topped the cupcakes with slightly sweetened whipped cream.  When I tasted them, I was not disappointed.  They were sweet and spicy…much spicier than regular gingerbread.  The texture was amazing, dense and moist with a crunchy top that was irresistible!  Success!  This is gingerbread taken to a whole new level…or, gingerbread with an attitude.photo 4 (2)

photo 3 (2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

In my next post, I plan to make a slight detour and pay homage to a dear uncle of mine who passed away recently.  He was a wonderful person and a fabulous baker.   I will be baking something in his honor that I think he would have loved.

Stay tuned,

Sweet Joan

2 thoughts on “Gingerbread with an Attitude!

  1. They look awesome! I don’t know why I never make anything gingerbread, because I love the mini muffins at Jason’s Deli.

Leave a Reply

