Old Fashioned Comfort

thJACLYJ3E

“Good, old-fashioned ways keep hearts sweet, heads sane, hands busy.”  ~ Louisa May Alcott

I adore old fashioned desserts; pineapple upside down cake, apple crisp, peach cobbler, chocolate cake and the like.  Just thinking about these goodies makes me smile.  thIKHV9FQ3

 

thIU3WC3UW

 

 

 

 

 

 

It reminds me of the days during my childhood when tables of these yummy desserts would be present at every family gathering.  Applesauce cake is one of those old fashioned kind of desserts; sweet, spicy and very moist.  Sometimes it had frosting, sometimes just powdered sugar; but always delicious.   Old fashioned desserts evoke a time, a feeling; the kind of comfort that can only be found in the kitchen.

thSZJ1P75M

This cupcake, Applesauce Spice, is a delightful old fashioned treat; just the aroma will send you to a wonderfully warm and cozy place.  Pour a big glass of milk or a cup of coffee and settle in for a delicious repast.

This recipe goes together very quickly and easily.  First….

Mise En Place

photo 1

(Mise En Place is a French term that literally translates to “set in place”.  In the culinary world it means you have everything ready to cook and in its place…sorry, sometimes I just like to show off. )

First of all, I whisked together the dry ingredients along with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.   Next, I creamed together butter, granulated sugar and brown sugar.

photo 2

photo 4

After that, I added the eggs, applesauce and the dry ingredients.  When this was well mixed,  I stirred in chopped pecans.

photo 5photo 1 (2)

photo 2 (2)photo 3 (2)

Here they are, out of the oven.  Yum.

photo 4 (2)

The frosting that was recommended was a Brown Sugar Cream Cheese frosting.  I thought I had tasted almost every kind of cream cheese frosting, but this one was new to me.

First I creamed the butter and brown sugar.  Next, I added confectioners sugar and beat this until smooth.  Finally, I added the cream cheese and beat everything together.

photo 3 (3)

photo 2 (3)

Here they are after adding the frosting.  Cute, huh?

photo 5 (3)

photo 3 (4)

I used an “old fashioned” plate to display these, it actually belonged to my late mother-in-law.  The candle sticks are very old and belonged to my husband’s grandmother.   Seemed appropriate for these cupcakes.

I loved these; they were deliciously moist and perfectly flavored.   They were not overly sweet which complemented the frosting very nicely.   And speaking of frosting – it was divine; not too sweet and more flavor depth than an ordinary cream cheese frosting.

photo 4 (4)

Do yourself a favor and make a good old fashioned dessert soon.  You never know what memories and good times it will bring back.

Next up: Peanut butter and jelly cupcakes.

Stay tuned,

Sweet Joan

One thought on “Old Fashioned Comfort

Leave a Reply

