You had me at peanut butter…

peanutbutterday12[1]

“Peanut butter [is] the pâté of childhood.” – Florence Fabricant

I’m not sure when my love affair with peanut butter began; I cannot remember a time when I didn’t love it!  Peanut butter cookies, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, peanut butter on buttered toast, Reese’s peanut butter cups – the list is endless.  Now on this special day, National peanut butter day (yes it’s real, I looked it up), what better treat than Peanut Butter and Jelly Cupcakes!  Oh, and today is also my birthday – coincidence? I think not!  These cupcakes were pure comfort food; the texture and taste reminded me of a peanut butter cookie.  The intense peanut butter batter was filled with chunks of peanuts along with a rich peanut butter frosting and an embellishment of strawberry jam on top.  Pure whimsy.

This is how I made them:

Mise En Place

photo 5 (2)

First I whisked together the dry ingredients and then creamed the butter and sugar until it was pale and fluffy.  When this was done,  I added the peanut butter, eggs and vanilla.

photo 1 (2)photo 2 (2)

photo 4 (2)

I gradually added the dry ingredients and when this was combined thoroughly,  I mixed in the sour cream and chopped peanuts.

photo 5 (3)

As you can imagine, the aroma from my oven was heavenly!  When they came out of the oven, I was tempted to try one immediately but I resisted and let them cool.

photo 1photo 2 (3)

The frosting I made was Peanut butter cream cheese.  The frosting? It was to die for. It was like eating peanut butter right out of the jar. But peanut butter that was so much richer and full-flavored than anything you’ve ever had before. I mean, peanut butter with cream cheese and whipped cream mixed in?  Can you imagine anything so good?  No, I can’t either.

photo 3After I frosted the cupcakes, I added a dollop of strawberry jam on top.  Gilding the lily, yes.  But, oh so worth it.

There you have it…it’s a classic combination –  Peanut Butter and Jelly.  It’s sweet and salty, nutty and fruity.  I feel like a kid again!

photo 5

photo 4

 

 

 

 

 

Next time: Brown sugar pound cakes.

Stay tuned,

Sweet Joan

12 thoughts on “You had me at peanut butter…

  1. I’m going thru a peanut butter addiction right now – those cupcakes look so good! I think I’ll have to settle for a piece of the chocolate/peanut butter pie I made last night. Your cupcakes look better tho!

  2. Pingback: Marvelous Mondays Link Party 2-16-14 - Call Me PMc

  3. Wow!!!!! Thank you for linking up at Tasty Tuesdays! Your post has been pinned to my Recipes from Tasty Tuesday board. I can’t wait to see what you link up next week!
    Have a terrific weekend!
    Cathy
    APeekIntoMyParadise.com
    #TastyTuesdays

Leave a Reply

